Return to Headlines

Greater Cincinnati Excellence in Education Awards

Congratulations to our three Cincinnatus Association Excellence in Education Award winners! Among the wealth of talent within Cincinnati Public Schools (CPS)  the Cincinnatus Association takes great pride in honoring the outstanding work being done within the district. 

Marking a century of civic dedication, The Cincinnatus Association proudly unites the academic prowess of five major regional universities: the University of Cincinnati, Xavier University, Thomas More University, Northern Kentucky University, and Mount St. Joseph University to celebrate educational excellence.  

More than a mere dinner ceremony, this event promises an immersive experience, inviting attendees to freely engage across six dialogue circles. Here, they'll have the unique opportunity to interact with award recipients and influential community figures. These dialogues will persist throughout the evening, punctuated by a presentation of awards and an insightful Q&A session with Leila Kubesch, the distinguished 2020 Ohio Teacher of the Year hailing from Norwood.

Among the deserving honorees are outstanding members of Cincinnati Public Schools (CPS), whose remarkable contributions have left an indelible mark:

  • The Cincinnatus - Woodward Trust Distinguished Teacher Award
    Sabrina McGill, Teacher - John. J Gilligan Digital Academy
    Nominated by: Julia Bauer, Teacher - John. J Gilligan Digital Academy

  • James N. Jacobs Memorial Award of Excellence
    LaTasha Kimbro, Parent Resource Coordinator - Rothenberg Preparatory Academy
    Nominated by: Rhonda C. Holyfield-Mangieri, Community Volunteer

  • The John E. Pepper Education Community Service Award
    Ruth Anne Wolfe, Volunteer - Pleasant Ridge Montessori School 
    Nominated by: Eva Borho - PTO President, Pleasant Ridge Montessori School 

The event's agenda is as follows:

  • 5:00 PM: Doors open to award winner dialog circles, Poster Gallery Walk, and cash bar.
  • 6:00 PM: Dinner is served.
  • 6:15 PM: Program commences with a warm welcome, followed by a keynote address from Leila Kubesch, engaging discussions, and the presentation of awards.
  • 7:30 PM: Concluding remarks bring the event to a close.