Return to Headlines

Three CPS Employees Recognized During Adopt a Class Celebration Breakfast

CPS employees were recognized for their hard work and dedication to students at the Adopt a Class 29th anniversary annual celebration breakfast. 

The Adopt a Class program pairs local business and community organizations with classrooms in need. Mentors from volunteer organizations have the opportunity to make a difference in students’ lives by providing career and life skills. 

Teacher and community organizations are recognized during the Adopt a Class celebration breakfast for going above and beyond for students within the district. 

This year, Adopt a Class recognized three outstanding CPS employees, including:

  • Teacher of the Year, 3rd-5th: Melissa Bailey, Westwood School

  • Teacher of the Year, 6th-8th: Heidi Yocum, Hughes STEM High School

  • Resource Coordinator of the Year: Heather England, Rockdale Academy

In addition, many mentor organizations partnering with CPS classrooms were recognized including:

  • Team Lead of the Year: Ed Barber - P&G; Team mentors at Mt. Airy Elementary 

  • Program Champion of the Year: Angela Easton & Joan Carmack Duke Energy; Team mentors at Riverview East

  • Corporate Partner of the Year: Metro; Five teams mentoring at Academy of World Languages and Westwood Elementary

  • Corporate Partner of the Year: BGR; Team mentors at Hartwell School

  • Funder of the Year Award: FC Cincinnati; funded growth at Hays Porter so all classrooms now have mentor teams; funding launch of program at Taft High School this upcoming school year

  • Founder's Award Cincinnati Police Department: Six mentor teams at Oyler, Roberts and Mt. Washington School

  • 20th Anniversary Award: Community Learning Center Institute; serving Oyler, Roberts, Academy of World Languages, Mt. Airy, Mt. Washington and Sayler Park

Congratulations to all the award recipients!