CPS Websites
Report Bullying

Finalists Named for Hawkins Educator of the Year Award

April 13, 2017

Western & Southern Financial Group recently announced 20 finalists for the 2017 Dr. Lawrence C. Hawkins Educator of the Year Award.

The award, established by Western & Southern in 2007, honors one educator each year in Cincinnati Public Schools (CPS) who has elevated the educational process in the district to an exceptional level through personal commitment, dedicated focus and outstanding results.

The 2017 recipient will be announced May 3, 2017, at a ceremony and reception hosted by Western & Southern at The Guilford Institute on its downtown Cincinnati campus. The award winner will receive a personal check for $10,000 from Western & Southern.

Finalists for 2017, chosen from nominations submitted by CPS teachers and administrators:

Rebecca Arlington - Mt. Airy School                

Ceair Baggett - Taylor Academy 

Sandra Bogle - South Avondale School 

Jeffrey J. Brokamp -  Walnut Hills High School

Aaron Brown - Academy of World Languages

Carmie Chambers  - Hyde Park School

Caitlin Halkiu - Academy of World Languages

Jessica Hartman - Hartwell School

Maria Hidalgo - Withrow University High School

Michael Jones - Kilgour School

Jenny Mauch - Pleasant Ridge Montessori School

Jennifer Miller - Rockdale Academy

Ann Myers - Covedale School

LeVaughn Neal - Withrow University High School

Melissa Ridley - Parker Woods Montessori School

Carla Romanos - Withrow University High School

Erin Sanders - Dater Montessori School

Susan Shackelford - Dater Montessori School

Caitlin Vagedes - Hughes STEM High School

Belinda Tubbs Wallace - Rockdale Academy

“Western & Southern recognizes that educators and administrators in the Cincinnati Public School system work hard and make a direct impact on our community through the children they guide and teach,” said John F. Barrett, chairman, president and chief executive officer for Western & Southern. “The Dr. Lawrence C. Hawkins Educator of the Year Award is a way for us to recognize and reward these educators for their commitment to inspiring Cincinnati’s children to excel in the classroom and beyond.”

Past recipients of the award (listed with their schools at time of award):

  • Melissa Estell, Woodford Paideia Academy, 2016
  • Krista Taylor, Gamble Montessori High School, 2015
  • Mary Beth Platen, Fairview-Clifton German Language School, 2014
  • Harrison Collier, Jr., Walnut Hills High School, 2013
  • Kathleen Donohoue, Sayler Park Elementary, 2012
  • Barbara J. James, Riverview East Academy, 2011
  • Nancy L. Johnson, CPS Turnaround Team, 2010
  • Angela Roddy, a consulting teacher for CPS, 2009
  • Kimya Moyo, Aiken College & Career High School, 2008
  • Sharon Johnson, Withrow University High School, 2007

Western & Southern’s inspiration for establishing the award in 2007 was Dr. Lawrence C. Hawkins, a renowned educator in Cincinnati who served as a distinguished member of the Western & Southern board of directors for many years. Hawkins, a member of the elite Tuskegee Airmen, earned undergraduate and graduate degrees from the University of Cincinnati, as well as a doctorate in education. He worked as both an educator and administrator at CPS before joining the University of Cincinnati faculty where he founded the College of Community Affairs. He was promoted to vice president of continuing education and metropolitan affairs and then again to executive vice president of administration. Hawkins served on several local community and business boards and was named a Great Living Cincinnatian in 1989 by The Greater Cincinnati Chamber of Commerce.


News Public Affairs Department

Public Affairs Department

Email: media@cps-k12.org
Phone: (513) 363-0020

Social Media Icons

Stay Connected:

FacebookCPS You Tube ChannelCPS TwitterI am CPSInstagramDownload CPA App